Mon, 21 Sep 2020

No Blitzboks in Hamilton Dream Team

27 Jan 2020, 16:13 GMT+10

Cape Town - It was no surprise that no Springbok Sevens players were included in the Dream Team named for the past weekend's Hamilton Sevens.

The Blitzboks entered the event as joint-leaders with New Zealand but slumped to a disappointing 10th position as the All Blacks Sevens claimed the title on home soil.

Pool losses to England (21-19) and Kenya (36-14) left the South Africans in the unfamiliar position of taking on usual title rivals Fiji in the 9th/10th place playoff.

They lost that too, going down 12-5 to bring the curtain down on a horror weekend in New Zealand.

The customary Dream Team named following the tournament included three New Zealanders - Scott Curry, Regan Ware and Tim Mikkelson.

France, who lost 27-5 in the final to New Zealand, have two players - Tavite Veredamu and Jonathan Laugel - while the rest of the team comprises Australia's Maurice Longbottom and England's Ollie Lindsay-Hague.

The Blitzboks are now level with France in second position on the overall World Rugby Sevens Series standings with 48 points, 15 behind leaders New Zealand.

The series now shifts to Sydney this weekend.

More Auckland News

Access More

Sign up for Auckland News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!